Lining Your Baking Tins 2

Check out my original post here.

Hey everybody! I wanted to write a sequel post to Lining Your Baking Tins to share some more quality baking tips. I hope this help!


Yesterday I was baking a chocolate cake for my brother’s belated birthday (I will create a post for that later). It was a three tier cake, so I was super excited. I had to wait an hour for the cakes to cook since our oven couldn’t fit all three pans on the bottom rack at once. But when they came out, they were stuck to the pans. Really badly. I kept running a knife under them, shaking them, and trying to release them from the pans, but they wouldn’t come out. When I finally got one loose, the bottom of the cake looked like a giant crater had hit. I hoped the other two would come out well enough that I could just stack the bad cake in the middle. Unfortunately, the second cake came out even worse, and the third wasn’t even coming out of the pan.

Yesterday I learned two lessons:

  1. Never use baking spray on cakes.
  2. If a recipe says to let the cakes cool for ten minutes, then remove them from the pan (regardless of being completely cooled) and follow the directions no matter what (I mean, I read that part, but having watched so many baking videos, I thought I could be smarter and just take them out once they were completely cooled).

Part of the reason the cakes were stuck was because I let them cool for about an hour. But the other big part was that I used baking spray. Some random “butter spray” that my brother uses to make his waffles (this is what happens when you are too excited about baking). I was going to line my pans with parchment paper, but I kept doing it wrong, so I just sprayed the pans and baked the cakes in the oven.

I ended up having to remake the batter, and divided it into two pans instead of three. I put a thick layer of Crisco around the sides and on the bottom. They weren’t completely whole, but they turned out better than the first batch. The cake still tasted amazing.


With this particular recipe, it was inevitable that it was going to stick to the pan. Other recipes may be less tough, but still take the precaution of using lots of Crisco, in addition to lining your pans.

5 thoughts on “Lining Your Baking Tins 2

  1. Next time, Kat, put a thin layer of Crisco, then dust the bottom and sides with flour. That’s the old-fashioned way, but it still works!

    Like

Leave a Reply

