Vanilla Sponge Mug Cake

Image source: realmomkitchen.com

Unfortunately, I have never tried a sponge cake before. But I really want to make one! Today my friend and I decided to make mug cakes – it ended up becoming a few more than planned as some of them didn’t taste very good…

However, I wanted to share this one with you because I found it very…interesting. Overall, it was okay, but it was unlike any mug cake that I had tasted before. Here is how to make this vanilla sponge mug cake. This recipe makes two mug cakes.

Ingredients:

  • 5 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 4 tbsp white granulated sugar
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 5 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla
  • Optional: fruit, whipped cream, or other toppings

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a standard sized mug, or a bowl.

Cook in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes, or until done.

Allow to cool, and add fresh fruit, whipped cream, powdered sugar, or other toppings to your preference.


Unfortunately, because I have never tried sponge cake before, I cannot compare the taste of this mug cake to an actual sponge cake. I would say that this cake was denser, due to the microwave cooking.

Another note, is that regardless whether you use vanilla or not, the cake tastes the same.

In addition, because I only used half of the recipe, and the full egg, I believe the cake came out eggier, and my friend and I both were laughing at how eggy it smelled. If you do not enjoy eggs, or the taste of eggs, I do not recommend making this cake.

However, I do think that there are a few ways that you can slightly change the taste of the cake.

  1. If you are only making one serving, really only use one half of the egg. Whip the egg white to make it fluffy.
  2. In a separate bowl, the dry ingredients together.
  3. In another separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients together. This includes the egg yolk half from earlier.
  4. Fold the dry ingredients through the egg whites. Do the same with the wet ingredients.
  5. Microwave for 1 1/2 minutes.

These tips may help make the cake lighter and less eggy.

(Recipe adapted from Real Mom Kitchen)

Leave a Reply

